Super Size My Monopoly Money

14 12 2008

The following is an excerpt from my essay on Super Size Me, for fitness class:

American public schools provide American children with terrible food that is basically the same as fast-food. This is because large food corporations have payed lobbyists working for them in the government and probably even the educational system. These lobbyists help ensure their patron’s wishes, such as the position as primary food provider for a school district, etc. This allows their corporations to sell low quality food to our children at high prices with government educational funding taken from our tax dollars. Various huge companies have a monopoly on the industry, such as Aramark – the company that produced horrible lunches at my high school way out in New Mexico and continues to produce horrible lunches at my college all the way in New York – there is no escape! I spent a brief period here at FIT working with the Foreign Films Club (now shutdown due to bureaucracy) and was really frustrated by the fact we were forced to pay Aramark for food during our movie showings. We were forced to spend over $12 per person for crappy Aramark boxed lunches, while we could have purchased high quality natural food from a small local restaurant for significantly less.

The terrifying thing is that this sort of corporate bureaucracy exists all the way up in all aspects of today’s global society. Not only are we forced to eat unhealthy food, but little by little human beings are losing more and more of their personal freedoms. We accept that we are in a rush running to school or work and can only spend a few dollars on an unhealthy McDonald’s cheeseburger. We don’t bother trying to customize our sandwich just like we don’t try to order customized shoes from Wal-Mart or a customized car from Ford. We accept it as it comes because we know we cannot change it. Fast-food is assembly-line cuisine and we live in an assembly-line society. With every generation a little less personal freedom becomes the accepted norm, and the eventual outcome is scary. We live in a world where the machine of humanity is so large that the individual gears are of little significance, as long as we spin and spend our money the machine can and will continue to give us the little dirty drop of oil that we need to survive. And when we get sick from it’s impurities we go to the doctor and make the medical and pharmaceutical industry gears spin – in sickness and in health we will make the machine run, even if it kills us. The end.


Actions

Information

22 responses

28 04 2013
best way to make money at flea markets

It’s approximately your own imagination and drive to locate the job which fits you best; it’s out there –
you just need to take it. The first is a “personal” account, the second is a “premier”, along with the third is often a “business” account.
You happen to be scammed and will need to spend more money than expected just to advertise.

26 07 2013
japan today news

Forget about climate change, and so our economy will increasingly be depleted by
restoring communities after fire, flood, drought,
and ravaging storms – estimates put the dollar amount at $1
trillion in restoration because of climate-related
disasters. Do you expect your friend or a relative to help you
lending some money when you are in an emergency. It
was reported on May 8, 2013, that the jury reached a Jodi Arias verdict.

13 09 2013
cola

Effortless Methods For Any Successful Big Occasion
Arranging a marriage is equally fascinating and rather stressful.

Turning into educated on weddings can help ease some of those stresses.

21 11 2013
Spy App

Hi my loved one! I wish to say that this article is awesome, nice
written and come with almost all vital infos.
I would like to see more posts like this .

16 12 2013
redirect to mobile site

Ӏ loved as much aѕ you’ll receive сarried out right here.
The sketch is attractive, your authorеd materiаl stylіsh.
nonetheless, уou command get got an impatience oveг that you wish be delivering the following.
unωell unquestionаbly come more formerly аgain as exactly thе same nearly very often inside case
you shield this hike.

25 01 2014
service manuals

Thank you for the good writeup. It if truth be told used
to be a amusement account it. Look advanced to more introduced
agreeable from you! However, how can we keep up a
correspondence?

22 02 2014
Zapatos Nike Baratos

I really love your site.. Excellent colors & theme.
Did you create this amazing site yourself? Please reply
back as I’m trying to create my own personal site and want to know where
you got this from or what the theme is named.
Cheers!

27 02 2014
Comprar Zapatos Louboutin Baratos

Hi! I just want to give you a huge thumbs up for the excellent info you’ve got right here on this post.
I will be coming back to your blog for more soon.\

27 02 2014
Polos De Ralph Lauren Mujer

I really love your blog.. Great colors & theme.
Did you make this web site yourself? Please reply back as I’m trying to create my own website and would love to learn where you got this from or just what the
theme is called. Thank you!
\

27 02 2014
st louis assisted living

This design is steller! You obviously know how to keep a reader amused.

Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start
my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Excellent job.
I really loved what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it.
Too cool!

4 03 2014
how to gain weight quickly

Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wished to say that I
have truly loved surfing around your blog posts. In any case I will be subscribing for your rss feed and
I’m hoping you write once more soon!

4 03 2014
Monster Warlord android cheat

Hey there, I think your site might be having browser compatibility issues.

When I look at your website in Ie, it looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping.
I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other then that, great
blog!

6 03 2014
computer programming degree

Hiyaa and welcome, I Simply enjoy programming with Ruby.
Havent been using it a long time but discovered heaps from websites alll across
the network. Additionally, yiur site has assisted me
an awful lot, and finally I say thank you for the crystal-clear explanations and easyy to follow stuff on
this web-site.

6 03 2014
mlm

There is less random growth and you are able to grow deeper.
10 or 15 of them may agree to join your downline or act as customers.
There is an early Chinese quote: if you hear something you forget it, if you see
something you will remember but by doing it you could really understand it.

18 03 2014
Make money From Home Starting Today for the cost of two Big Mac's

Good day! I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering which blog platform
are you using for this site? I’m getting fed up of WordPress because I’ve had issues with hackers and I’m looking
at alternatives for another platform. I would be awesome if you could point me in the direction of a good
platform.

22 03 2014
Zapatos De Christian Louboutin

Hello, i think that i saw you visited my site thus i came to “return the favor”.I am trying
to find things to improve my site!I suppose
its ok to use some of your ideas!!\

26 03 2014
air conditioner heating

You said it exceptionally well.

30 03 2014
heating system service cost

Regards. Helpful stuff!

9 04 2014
real estate sites ontario

When you question a possible agent [and you should check out several agents before signing a contract], inquire if they’re
receptive to discussing a discount on their fees.
Like Many REALTORS®, you probably have some sort of contact list,
but you’re not really sure how to use that list to grow your business.

If your rent is $1000 per month, this will be $100.

15 04 2014
Top Eleven Football Manager Token Generator

Should top eleven hack tool wwe go on? So, I’m not sure exactly
where it’s going. And in Evil FOCA, wee need the physical address to discover the physiccal address
to discover the physical address.

18 04 2014
Spanish Directory

Excellent post. I was checking constantly this blog
and I am impressed! Extremely helpful info particularly the last part 🙂 I care for such info much.
I was looking for this certain information for a long time.
Thank you and good luck.

23 04 2014
Throne Rush Cheats

”’James Joyce had a fascination for women’s underwear’  ‘-‘ ‘-‘ ‘ The biographer Richard Ellman mentions that Joyce used to carry a pair of lace-trimmed doll’s knickers
in his trouser pocket”’. edu – Sent: Friday, February 23, 2001 4:14 AMSubject:
Fw: What Makes a Marriage. You should be able to side step
the issue if you leave her at camp or haven’t gotten her yet.

Leave a comment